WhatsApp is rolling out default disappearing messages for iPhone and Android

WhatsApp is rolling out new privacy features with default disappearing messages and multiple durations for those messages. Users can now set all new individual chats to start vanishing messages after the selected duration of 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days.

This is not the first privacy feature that they’ve added in the past few years. Seven-day disappearing messages was introduced back in November of 2020, ‘view once’ photos and videos were introduced in August 2021, and multiple duration disappearing messages was also tested that same month. However, this is the first time that users can set every new chat message to disappear by default.

How to activate default disappearing messages on WhatsApp

On iPhone and Android, go to Account, Privacy, and tap on ‘Default message timer’. You should see a page where you can select between 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days for the timer.

Currently, this feature doesn’t show up for everyone. I don’t have it on my phone yet, despite being on the latest version of the app. Only some of the people I asked were able to find the feature, which tells me that it’s slowly rolling out on a user-by-user basis.

If you’re unsure how disappearing messages works, here are the frequently asked questions that might clarify the functionality for you.

  • If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the 24 hour, 7 day, or 90 day period, the message will disappear from the chat. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
  • When you reply to a message, the initial message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after the duration you select.
  • If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat.
  • If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup.

You must also note that this feature is not foolproof. The recipient of your messages could always take a screenshot of your message or save the content before it disappears. WhatsApp will not give you a notification if they do either of those things.

For the privacy advocates, this is a nice addition to have, but Signal and Telegram have had it for a while now. Critics are saying that this would just be used for illegal activities, but I think privacy is quite valuable. I’m not hiding anything, I just don’t want Zuckerberg to see my vacation pictures.

[ SOURCE ]

Recent Posts

GSMA: Southeast Asia mobile emissions rise 20% due to poor renewable energy access

Mobile operators across Asia Pacific are struggling to meet their climate goals despite growing commitments,…

3 hours ago

Apple Watch Ultra 4: Upgraded GPS tracking, 50-hour battery life, priced from RM3,699

Apple has officially unveiled the Apple Watch Ultra 4 alongside the iPhone Duo, iPhone 18…

14 hours ago

Nothing Ear (3a) with Audio Snapshot recording feature arrives in Malaysia for RM399

Nothing has officially confirmed local availability details for its latest wireless earbuds, the Nothing Ear…

19 hours ago

JomCharge turns on 100kW DC Charger at McDonald’s Kota Emerald in Rawang

Another McDonald's Drive-Thru is now an EV Charging location. JomCharge and McDonald's have just turned…

20 hours ago

JomCharge x DBKL turn on 100kW DC Charger at Rotiman Bakery Sri Petaling

JomCharge and DBKL street-level EV charger deployment continues in Sri Petaling and they have just…

20 hours ago

CTOS Digital upgrades mobile app with peer credit benchmarking and business intelligence

CTOS Digital has officially rolled out a major overhaul to its mobile application, integrating personal…

21 hours ago

This website uses cookies.