CMCO for Sabah, KL and Selangor extended until 14 January 2021

The government has extended the conditional movement control order (CMCO) in Selangor, Kuala Lumpur and Sabah until January 14 next year due to the high COVID-19 cases in these areas.

The extension also covers Johor Bahru and Batu Pahat in Johor; Seremban in Negri Sembilan; and two areas in Penang — Mukim 12 in the state’s south-west and Mukim 13 in its north-east.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said that the CMCO implemented in Selangor will involve all its districts including Hulu Selangor, Kuala Selangor and Sabak Bernam, which were earlier exempt from the restrictions.

“For 14 days, from December 14 to December 27, there were a total of 8,194 COVID-19 positive cases in Selangor, and all districts in the state have become red zones,” he said in a press conference today.

He said Kuala Lumpur had recorded 4,379 new COVID-19 cases, while Sabah had recorded 3,243 cases during the same period.

Ismail announced the end of the CMCO today in several areas of three states: Kulai in Johor; Port Dickson in Negri Sembilan; and Ipoh and Chemor in Perak.

He said the CMCO was ended earlier than scheduled as the COVID-19 cases in these areas were now under control. — Malay Mail

Related reading