Days since MCO

MCO started on Mar 18, 2020


Days till RMCO lifted

RMCO expected to lift on Apr 14, 2021


Our coverage on COVID‑19

MCO declared throughout Malaysia except Sarawak

During today’s National Security Council briefing, the government has announced Movement Control Order (MCO) for 6 additional states. This effectively puts all states and territories in Malaysia under MCO except for Sarawak.

The mentioned states were previously placed under Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) on 11th January 2021. The MCO for the 6 states will start from 22nd January until 4th February 2021.

Kelantan and Sibu, Sarawak were elevated to MCO on 15th January 2021. Sibu has been reporting the most number of new COVID-19 cases in Sarawak in the past week. Most cases are from the Pasai Siong cluster which involved a woman who have returned home from Johor to attend a funeral.

There are a total of 165,371 cases with 619 deaths recorded as of today. Malaysia has been recorded over 3,000 new cases daily for the past 6 days. Sarawak is now under CMCO on the state level (except Sibu, Selangau and Kanowit) and it is the only state with remaining green zones.


Alexander Wong